Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Newsletter: TACVB Board Renames Legacy Award in Honor of Marion Szurek
Share |

TACVB Board Renames Legacy Award in Honor of Marion Szurek

At their December 1, 2017 meeting, the TACVB Board unanimously approved a measure to rename TACVB's Legacy Award in honor of Marion Szurek. Marion passed away last fall, but through her work and her passion for the Texas tourism industry, her legacy lives on.  Marion was the former Executive Director of the San Angelo CVB, a Texas tourism pioneer, trail-blazer, mentor, and friend to many.  She is known as the "first lady of Texas tourism" and was a staunch supporter of TACVB.

"On behalf of the TACVB Board, we were pleased to bestow this honor on such a great lady and friend to TACVB. Were it not for Marion's support and guidance in the early years, TACVB would not be where it is today", said Amy Zientek, TACVB Board Chair.

Beginning at TACVB's 2018 Annual Conference, the Legacy Award will be known as the "Marion Szurek Legacy Award".  The Marion Szurek Legacy Award is presented to an individual that exhibits characteristics of legacy, vision, inspiration, leadership, professionalism, and hospitality. Recipients have greatly shaped the success of the tourism industry in Texas. Through their commitment and influence, they have dedicated years of service to build a strong foundation for TACVB and for future generations.  Marion was honored with this award in 2008.

Texas Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus
PO Box 8665
Round Rock, TX  78683
Phone: 512-550-3464
Copyright © 2013 by TACVB - All rights reserved.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal